Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Deleting In Progress- page.

How to Unregister Honeywell WiFi Thermostat RTH9580WF




Perhaps you are moving but leaving your Honeywell WiFi thermostat at the old location.  Or, you wish to sell the thermostat to someone else at a different location and / or who has a different TCC account.  In either case, be sure to take the time to unregister it at the  My Total Connect Comfort (TCC)  web site, to save time and aggravation for the next person to own it.  If you do not unregister it, they’ll have to jump through some painful hoops to add it to their own TCC account.  They may even have to pester you to unregister it.  So, please take a few moments and unlink the thermostat from your own TCC account before transferring it to a new owner.

Here, we demonstrate how to correctly unregister the Honeywell RTH9580WF Wi-Fi thermostat from the TCC web site, and thus, unlink it from our TCC account.

 

1. Visit the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Web Site.  Direct your web browser to https://www.mytotalconnectcomfort.com/

Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying its login page, with active account info filled in.
Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying its login page, with active account info filled in.

 

2. Log in there.  Enter your TCC user Id and password on the login page shown above, and then tap / click the red   Login   button.  When we do it, we get the device status screen for our sole thermostat, as shown next.

Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Thermostat Control- screen, with the -My Locations- link highlighted.
Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Thermostat Control- screen, with the -My Locations- link highlighted.

 

3. Tap or click the  My Locations   link, located near the top of the page, close to the left edge, as pointed at by the pink arrow in the previous picture.  This brings up a list of all the locations / physical addresses that you’ve set up in your TCC account, as follows.

Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Web Site, displaying the -My Locations- page, with the -Settings- link highlighted.
Honeywell Total Connect Comfort Web Site, displaying the -My Locations- page, with the -Settings- link highlighted.

 

4. Tap / click the   Settings   link  for the location you want to change.  To unregister a particular thermostat, you must edit the location in which the thermostat has previously been registered.  In our case, we only have one location; the  My Apartment  locale.  So, it is those settings we’ll be editing here.  Activating the   Settings  link brings up the   Edit Location   page, as shown next.  Note that we’ve “spray painted” the sensitive details about our personal TCC account, in pink “paint”.

Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Edit My Location- page, with the -Delete Thermostat- link highlighted.
Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Edit My Location- page, with the -Delete Thermostat- link highlighted.

 

5. Tap the   Trash Can   link  for the thermostat you wish to unregister at the location you’re editing.  The list of registered thermostats at this location, is found in the right lower quadrant of the page in the  Devices Assigned to this Location   section.   The pink arrow in the previous picture points to the trash can we’re referring to.

Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Delete Wi-Fi Thermostat Confirmation- page, with our particular thermostat information blanked out.
Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Delete Wi-Fi Thermostat Confirmation- page, with our particular thermostat information blanked out.

 

6. Tap / click the red   Yes   button.  This action briefly displays the  Deleting Thermostat  page while it unregisters the selected thermostat, as shown next.

Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Deleting In Progress- page.
Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Deleting In Progress- page.

After this de-registration is finished, you are then returned to the   Edit My Location  page, as shown next.  Notice that the thermostat we unregistered is no longer listed in the   Devices Assigned to This Location   section.

Picture of the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Edit My Location- page, showing no thermostats registered.
Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, displaying the -Edit My Location- page, showing no thermostats registered.

 

7. Verify that your thermostat has indeed been unregistered,   by going to the thermostat itself, and inspecting its home screen.   As shown next, when a Honeywell 9000 series Wi-Fi thermostat is not currently registered, it displays a message in a yellow box, that invites you to register the thermostat in order to be able to control it remotely.  If you see this message on the thermostat screen, then it has been successfully unregistered, and a new owner will be able to register it in their TCC account, without needless difficulty.

Picture of the Honeywell RTH9580WF Wi-Fi thermostat, displaying the -Register Thermostat Online- message.
Honeywell RTH9580WF Wi-Fi thermostat, displaying the -Register Thermostat Online- message.

 

8.  You’re done!  After de-registration, the thermostat will continue to work correctly.  E.g. It will continue regulating the temperature and following its schedule if set.  You’ll still be able to control it locally and make adjustments as well.  However, the thermostat will no longer be accessible remotely via the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort web site, until it has been registered again.

Caution.  Keep in mind that unregistering the thermostat does not reset it to factory default values.  All your local settings changes, including programs, schedules, and preferences, will remain intact.  Nor does resetting the thermostat unregister it.  While resetting may erase any settings customizations, the thermostat will remain linked to its current account until it is explicitly unregistered by the account owner on the TCC web site.  So, in order to completely prepare the thermostat for its next owner, we strongly recommend not only unregistering it online, but also resetting it to factory default settings locally.

 

Related Posts

References

Revision History

  • 2017-03-05: Originally published.